History of Bypass Blocks

Year Standard Requirement and Assistive Technology
1999 WCAG 1.0
  • Checkpoint 13.6 Group related links, identify the group (for user agents), and, until user agents do so, provide a way to bypass the group. [Priority 3].
  • Screen readers did not have features to navigate headers.
2000 Section 508
  • § 1194.22 (o) A method shall be provided that permits users to skip repetitive navigation links.
  • Screen readers begin to include web page navigation features like navigating headers.
2007 XHTML Role Attribute Module (Working Draft) First introduction of landmark region roles:
  • banner
  • contentinfo
  • main
  • navigation
  • search
  • secondary (later changed to "complementary" in ARIA)
2008 WCAG 2.0
  • Success Criteria 2.4.1 Bypass Blocks: A mechanism is available to bypass blocks of content that are repeated on multiple Web pages. (Level A)
  • JAWS Screen Reader + Some Specific Version of Microsoft Internet Explore is the default standard for accessibility.
  • VoiceOver for macOS is available.
2014 ARIA 1.0
  • ARIA is first standard to define how browsers should communicate web page information to accessibility APIs for macOS, Windows and Linux
  • ARIA defines landmark region roles, although implementation in browsers has been available for years.
  • Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome lead browser efforts to implement ARIA standard.
  • JAWS and NVDA for Windows, VoiceOver for macOS and Orca for Linux/GNOME become the dominate screen readers.